1. North America Taiwanese Engineering and Science Association (NATEA) 北美台灣工程師協會(總會)


North America Taiwanese Engineering and Science Association (NATEA)


The North America Taiwanese Engineering & Science Association (NATEA), a US non-profit and tax-deductible professional organization, was founded by a group of engineers and scientists on March 2, 1991 in Silicon Valley, California USA. Since then, NATEA has grown into twelve (12) Regional Chapters and seven (7) Regional Liaison Offices throughout the U.S. and Canada with more than 2,200 members and 10 corporate sponsors. The Association is headquartered in the regional chapter where the HQ president is elected, currently in Silicon Valley, California. Its 12 regional chapters are in Silicon Valley, Southern California, Saint Louis, Greater New York City, Ottawa & Toronto, Canada, Greater Chicago Area, Austin, Dallas, Seattle, Up New York and North Carolina. The NATEA’s seven Regional Offices are located in Denver, Washington D. C., Phoenix, San Diego, Detroit, Las Vegas, and Vancouver for promoting NATEA activities.


 To focus on Taiwan, and to support research and development in Taiwan and thereby enhance Taiwan’s technological global positions

 To Establish grass-roots relationships between NATEA and other scientific or engineering organizations, to increase the community awareness of the achievement of overseas Taiwanese engineers and scientists in North America; To encourage and provide assistance to Taiwanese young generation in North America to pursue scientific or engineering careers

 To facilitate technology development, entrepreneurship and job opportunities, and to provide management skill training and opportunity for NATEA members


The Association established the Advisory Council with the following Honorary Advisers:

Dr. San-Cheng Chang (張善政 – Vice Premier, The Executive Yuan, Taiwan); Dr. Yuan-Tsch Lee (李遠哲 – Nobel 化學獎得主暨前中央研究院院長); Dr. Teresa H. Meng (孟懷榮, Professor of Stanford University, Academician of Taiwan Academia Sinica, Stanford, USA); Dr. Johnsee Lee (李鐘熙 – 前工研院院長 ITRI); Dr. Jyh-Sheng Ke (柯志昇 – 前資訊工業策進會執行長 I I I); Dr. Jei-Fu Shaw (蕭介夫 – 前中興大學校長 NCHU); Dr. Peter (Chuing –Yu) Wu (吳重雨 – 前交通大學校長 NCTU); Dr. Hung-Duen Yang (楊弘敦 – 中山大學校長 NSYSU).


The Association serves its members and their communities in different technical and social gatherings, and periodically holds a variety of scientific & technological conferences sponsored by Science and Technology Division, Ministry of Science and Technology (formerly National Science Council) of Taiwan, Chunghwa Telecom and ITRI in Taiwan, workshops and seminars which are either independently managed by NATEA Regional Chapters or by collaborating with local mainstream professional organizations like IEEE or IBIO through ten (10) different internal Special Interest Groups (SIGs). All the events are open to the general public. Noticeably, many members serve in leading-edge technical and managerial positions in various business sectors in North America and are founders of some of the most successful companies in the high-tech and its associated industries. In addition, NATEA works with its twelve (12) Regional Chapters by offering scholarships to needy high school and college students in Silicon Valley and other regional chapter cities across North America.


Many NATEA members are associated with engineering and science companies or universities, in Silicon Valley or other cities across North America, such as IBM, AT&T, Apple, HP, Intel, Livermore Labs, Oracle, Cisco, Verizon Wireless, VMware, Google, Facebook, LinkedIn, Juniper Networks, Arista Networks, Private-Held Companies, Defense Industries, Stanford University, UCBerkely, UCLA, US Government, Canadian Government, and others in different capacity.


Cloud Computing, Medical Devices, Wireless, Green Energy, HealthCare, Lifescience, Transportation Systems, Telecommunication Systems, FCC and FDA Policy, Information Technology, and others.


John Pang Yu, Ph.D; NATEA Founding President and HQ President Emeritus

Joe Chou, Ph.D; NATEA – HQ President (2014-2015)

C. Y. Chang, Ph.D., NATEA-HQ President (2012-2013)

Tim Lin, MBA , NATEA-HQ President (2010-2011)

James Tu, NATEA-HQ President (2008-2009)

Tom Chang, MBA, NATEA-HQ President (2006-2007)

Sheau Chen, Ph.D. NATEA-HQ President (2004-2005)

Jimmy Li, Ph.D. NATEA-HQ President (2002-2003)

Eugene Yeh, Ph.D.; NATEA President (1996)

Yea-Huang Uang, Ph.D. NATEA President (1997)

Jhitang Steve Chen, Ph.D. NATEA President (1998)

Julie Chen, NATEA President (2001)

Larry Lin, Ph.D. NATEA President (2002)

Fannie Chao; NATEA –Dallas, Former Chapter President

G C Chi, Ph.D.; NATEA Advisor

C. Jason Wang, MD, Ph.D.; Invited NATEA Member

Jonathan Tong, MD; Invited NATEA Member

Lee H. Hilborne, MD, Ph.D.; Invited NATEA Member